Comparisons
Zendesk alternatives for teams that answer calls and WhatsApp
19 Oct 2026 · 10 min read
The short answer
The right Zendesk alternative depends on your channels. Freshdesk, Help Scout and Zoho Desk each bill per user and show prices in dollars or rupees. If calls and WhatsApp are half your volume and you want to pay in shillings, SautiDesk puts both in one ticket per customer from KES 1,000 per user a month.
A Zendesk alternative is worth considering when the price per agent, the add-ons or the setup no longer fit how your team works. This guide compares Zendesk with Freshdesk, Help Scout, Zoho Desk and SautiDesk on what buyers ask about: phone, WhatsApp and how you are charged. Every competitor figure comes from that vendor’s pricing page, read on 19 October 2026.
When should you look for a Zendesk alternative?
Look when your bill or your workflow has changed shape. Zendesk charges per agent, and its text messages, phone numbers and call minutes appear as add-ons on its pricing page without a stated price. See our Zendesk pricing guide for the full picture.
- Half your customers call or use WhatsApp, and email is the smaller channel.
- You are paying in dollars and your revenue is in shillings, so every exchange-rate move changes your costs.
- Agents jump between a help desk, a phone app and a WhatsApp phone to answer one customer.
- A missed call does not create a task with an owner.
- You want to be running this week, not after a multi-week rollout.
How do the main help desks compare?
The table uses only what each vendor’s pricing page states. “Not stated” means the page did not say, not that the feature is missing. Check the vendor before you rule it out.
| Help desk | Phone | Pricing model | Entry price | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Zendesk | Embedded voice on Suite plans, not on Support Team; IVR on Suite Professional | On Suite plans, “additional fees apply” | Per agent, annual or monthly | $19 Support Team, $55 Suite Team (annual) |
| Freshdesk | Not stated on the pricing page | Not stated on the pricing page | Per agent, annual or monthly | $19 Growth, $55 Pro, $89 Enterprise (annual) |
| Help Scout | Via integration, Aircall is an add-on | On Standard | Per user, monthly or annual toggle | Free for 5 users, then $25 Standard |
| Zoho Desk | Telephony on Professional | On Standard | Per user, billed annually or monthly | Indian rupees: ₹420 Express, ₹800 Standard, ₹1,400 Professional (annual) |
| SautiDesk | Calls built in on both plans | On both plans | Per person in KES, usage from a prepaid balance | KES 1,000 Basic, KES 3,000 Pro, owner free |
Zoho’s page showed Indian rupees when we fetched it, so we have not converted any figure. The page has a currency selector that lists Kenya shillings, so switch it to see Zoho’s own figure in KES. Help Scout shows one price per plan beside a Monthly/Annual toggle with a 16% annual badge and does not say which cycle the $25, $45 and $75 reflect, so confirm the cycle before you budget.
Which plan do supervisors’ tools sit on?
Queue routing and response targets are where entry plans stop. Each vendor’s page puts them a plan or two up.
| Help desk | Routing | Response targets (SLAs) |
|---|---|---|
| Zendesk | Skills-based routing on Suite Professional | SLAs on Suite Professional |
| Freshdesk | Intelligent routing on Pro, skill-based routing on Enterprise | Multiple SLA policies on Pro |
| Help Scout | Round robin on Plus | One basic policy on Standard, two on Plus, unlimited on Pro |
| Zoho Desk | Round-robin assignment on Professional, skill-based on Enterprise | Multi-level escalation rules from Express |
| SautiDesk | Calls ring whichever agent is free; one queue on Basic, unlimited on Pro | Late tickets surface first, per the help desk page |
What is a good Freshdesk alternative?
Freshdesk’s pricing page lists Growth at $19, Pro at $55 and Enterprise at $89 per agent a month billed annually, with a 14-day trial of Enterprise. Freddy AI Copilot is a $29 per agent a month add-on on Pro and Enterprise. The page does not mention phone or WhatsApp. If voice and WhatsApp are core, ask Freshworks which plan carries them and at what extra cost. An alternative worth testing is a help desk where both are in the base price, as in SautiDesk, so there is no second phone product to buy.
What is a good Help Scout alternative?
Help Scout’s pricing page lists a Free plan for 5 users and paid plans at $25 (Standard, up to 25 users), $45 (Plus, up to 50) and $75 (Pro, minimum 10). WhatsApp is on Standard. Phone arrives through an integration, and Aircall is listed as an add-on. Teams that want phone and WhatsApp in the same ticket with no separate telephony vendor look for a desk with calls built in.
What about Zoho Desk?
Zoho Desk’s pricing page lists a free edition for three users and four paid plans, in Indian rupees per user a month on yearly billing as the page was served to us: Express at ₹420, Standard at ₹800 with WhatsApp, Professional at ₹1,400 with telephony and Enterprise at ₹2,400 with multi-level IVR. If you already run Zoho for sales or accounts, that is a reason to stay in the family. Otherwise compare the Professional plan, since it is the first one with phone.
Why teams that take calls and WhatsApp choose SautiDesk
SautiDesk is a help desk and call centre. Calls, WhatsApp, SMS, email and web chat become one ticket per customer, and a contact has at most one open ticket, so the next agent sees what was said. Calls are answered in the browser with a headset. A WhatsApp inbox puts the business number on every agent’s screen, and agents can send approved reminders and updates as well as replies. SautiDesk’s call centre page says you can be taking calls the same day.
- Missed calls become tickets. Each one has an owner, so someone calls back.
- Priced in shillings. Basic is KES 1,000 per user a month and Pro is KES 3,000. The owner is free. You pay by M-Pesa or card.
- Calls billed per second. Incoming is free and outgoing is KES 0.05 per second, taken from a prepaid balance. Basic includes one business number and each extra number is KES 500 a month.
- Pro for supervisors. Live floor view, listening in on live calls, unlimited queues, your own outcomes and reports are Pro features.
SautiDesk is for teams that serve customers by phone and chat. Basic has one queue, one number and one email address.
What does the same team cost on each?
Take 10 agents. Zendesk Suite Team is $55 a month each on annual billing, which is $550 a month. Freshdesk Pro at $55 is also $550 a month, but the page does not say what voice or WhatsApp costs. Help Scout Standard at $25 would be $250 a month, with phone through an integration, if that figure is the cycle you buy. SautiDesk Basic is KES 10,000 a month for 10 people besides the owner, and KES 30,000 on Pro. The currencies differ and usage is extra on every option, so convert at your bank’s rate on the day you buy and add your own usage.
What should you ask every vendor?
| Question | Why it matters |
|---|---|
| Which plan includes phone, and which includes WhatsApp? | The entry price often leaves out the channel you need |
| What do numbers, minutes and messages cost? | Zendesk lists these as add-ons without a figure on its pricing page |
| Who counts as a paid seat? | Supervisors and part-time agents can double the seat count |
| What changes between annual and monthly billing? | Zendesk Suite Team is $55 annual and $69 monthly |
| What is the currency and who pays tax? | A bill in dollars moves with the exchange rate |
How do you choose? A short checklist
- List your channels and what share of volume each carries.
- For each shortlisted tool, find the plan that includes phone and WhatsApp, not just the entry price.
- Write the first-year bill: seats, add-ons, numbers, minutes, messages.
- Ask who counts as a paid seat, including supervisors and part-time staff.
- Run the trial with a real week of customers, not a demo.
- Check the currency you will be billed in and any tax.
For a wider shortlist read best help desk software, and for the basics read what a ticketing system is.